Historical

Emil_Mayer_034

Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

Am Hof at Vienna: A cab supplies his horses even with water.

Picture date between 1905 and 1914 Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

800px-Emil_Mayer_033

Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

Vienna and his cabs have a long common tradition. From this attachment one of the best known Viennese songs testifies from 1885. Today journeys with the horse carriages count to the most popular tourist attractions. Cabs, the historical wage carriages, are not to be imagined as not existing in the townscape of Vienna and present the picturesque scenery of Vienna from a special perspective to the guests and visitors all year round.
Many horse carriages are more than 100 years old and offer an attractive possibility to admire the numerous places of interest. Enjoy the incomparable atmosphere of a cosmopolitan city in a comfortable cab journey and are astonished at the impressive splendour constructions and palaces of the longest last time. With a city tour you discover the enchanting ambience of Vienna and feel in the history of the empire restored.

Stands are on the place Stephans, heroic place, Michaelerplatz and Peter’s place as well as in Burgtheater and in Albertina behind the Viennese state opera. The prices of round trips of different length are settled by the city of Vienna.

Since 1984 there are with the Viennese cabs also female coachmen. Since 1998 a special check, the driving service check is in Vienna inevitably to be allowed to steer a cab. Within the scope of this check are also required grounding about the most important Viennese places of interest., Among the rest, the traditional clothing of the cab drivers regulates. The factory regulations for cab and horse hired car enterprise.

By Peter at Vienna (Eigenes Werk) [CC-BY-SA-3.0-at (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/at/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Author:Peter at Vienna

josef schmutzThe cab monument of Josef Engelhart on the Viennese cab place in 1030 Vienna.
When during the sixty-year-old’s years the renovation was carried out all around Hainburgerstrasse, was clear that there will be there once the cab place. For this location a monument should be created because the bronze figure coming in 1937 from Josef Engelhart had landed Vienna, lane Veronika 12, in the meantime, in the court of the “cab museum” in 1170. As an Engelharts model for the cab is valid Josef Schmutz who was called in general “Schuaster Fraunz”.

Historisches

Emil_Mayer_034

Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

Am Hof in Wien: Ein Fiaker versorgt seine Pferde selbst mit Wasser.
Bilddatum zwischen 1905 und 1914 Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

800px-Emil_Mayer_033

Author: Emil Mayer (1871-1938)

Wien und seine Fiaker haben eine lange gemeinsame Tradition.  Von dieser Verbundenheit zeugt eines der bekanntesten Wienerlieder aus dem Jahr 1885. Fahrten mit den Pferdekutschen zählen heute zu den beliebtesten Touristenattraktionen. Fiaker, die historischen Lohnkutschen, sind aus dem Stadtbild Wiens nicht wegzudenken und präsentieren den Besucherinnen und Besuchern das ganze Jahr über die malerische Kulisse Wiens aus einer besonderen Perspektive.
Viele Pferdekutschen sind über 100 Jahre alt und bieten eine attraktive Möglichkeit, die zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten zu bewundern. Genießen Sie das unvergleichliche Flair einer Weltstadt bei einer gemütlichen Fiakerfahrt und staunen Sie über die beeindruckenden Prunkbauten und Palais einer längst vergangenen Zeit. Bei einer Stadtrundfahrt entdecken Sie das zauberhafte Ambiente Wiens und fühlen sich in die Geschichte des Kaiserreichs zurückversetzt.

Standplätze befinden sich am Stephansplatz, Heldenplatz, Michaelerplatz und Petersplatz sowie beim Burgtheater und bei der Albertina hinter der Wiener Staatsoper. Die Preise für Rundfahrten unterschiedlicher Länge werden von der Stadt Wien festgesetzt.

Seit 1984 gibt es bei den Wiener Fiakern auch weibliche Kutscher. Seit 1998 ist in Wien eine spezielle Prüfung, die Fahrdienstprüfung notwendig, um einen Fiaker lenken zu dürfen. Im Rahmen dieser Prüfung werden auch Grundkenntnisse über die wichtigsten Wiener Sehenswürdigkeiten verlangt. Die Betriebsordnung für Fiaker- und Pferdemietwagenunternehmen regelt unter anderem die traditionelle Bekleidung der Fiakerfahrer.

josef schmutz

By Peter at Vienna (Eigenes Werk) [CC-BY-SA-3.0-at (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/at/deed.en)], via Wikimedia Commons

Author:Peter at Vienna


Das Fiakerdenkmal von Josef Engelhart auf dem Wiener Fiakerplatz in 1030 Wien.
Als in den Sechzigerjahren die Sanierung rund um die Hainburgerstraße durchgeführt wurde, war klar, dass es dort einmal den Fiakerplatz geben werde. Für diesen Standort sollte ein Denkmal geschaffen werden, weil die 1937 von Josef Engelhart stammende Bronzeplastik inzwischen im Hof des „Fiakermuseums“ 1170 Wien, Veronikagasse 12 gelandet war. Als Engelharts Modell für den Fiaker gilt Josef Schmutz, der allgemein „Schuaster Fraunz“ genannt wurde.